Board and Staff

A volunteer Board of Directors governs United Way St. Croix Valley. The Board meets 8-10 times per year. The Executive Committee consists of the four officers (president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer). There are three standing committees of the Board (Finance, Community Impact and Resource Development) which meet as needed.

Board members are identified and recruited by the Executive Director and the Board’s Executive Committee. The goal is to maintain a Board that is representative of the communities that we serve. Board members may serve up to six years and terms are staggered to maintain continuity.

United Way St. Croix Valley has eight employees. Executive Director Ann Searles is full-time. Part-time employees are Development and Communications Director Jessica Francis, Community Impact-Family Friendly Workplace Director Tom Holland, John Coughlin Food & Resource Center Coordinator Michelle Alters, Success By 6 Coordinator Mary Sue Ash, Executive Assistant Carol Joswiak, Success By 6 Engagement Specialist Lara Otsuka and Marketing and Campaign Specialist Kate Smith.

Board of Directors
President/Executive Committee, Development & Marketing Committee Chair
Cynthia Jahnke Personal Lines Manager Sandeen Insurance
Vice President
Ann Schilling Human Capital Partner UnitedHealthcare
- - -
Treasurer/Finance & Operations Chair
Steven Snell Engineering Manager Engineered Plastic Components
Past President
Dan Draxler President Bremer Bank
Board Members
Bryce Buckles Supply Chain Supervisor Andersen Corporation
James Dahl Director, LDOE (Retired) SUPERVALU, Inc.
Julie DuBois Director, Human Resource Development Andersen Corporation
Michael Gruenes Manager, Financial Mgmt. Technology Securian
Alex Holsman Clinic Director Amery Regional Medical Center
Marc Ruska Vice President - Domestic Bank Credit US Bank
Warren Schneider Director of Materials Compliance (Retired) 3M Company
Todd Sherman VP, Global Bankcard Client Services US Bank
Deanna Shimota Partner GrowthMode Marketing
Craig Swanson Director (Retired) Lean Six Sigma & Corporate Quality
Kevin Urbik Attorney Heywood, Cari and Anderson, S.C.


Ann Searles Ann Searles
Executive Director
Jessica Francis Jessica Francis
Development and Communications Director
Tom Holland Tom Holland
Community Impact-Family Friendly Workplace Director
Michelle Alters Michelle Alters
John Coughlin Food & Resource Center Coordinator
Mary Sue Ash Mary Sue Ash
Success By 6 Coordinator
Carol Joswiak Carol Joswiak
Executive Assistant
Lara Otsuka Lara Otsuka
Success By 6 Engagement Specialist
Kate Smith Kate Smith
Marketing and Campaign Specialist

Top of page